The consequences of a drug conviction can last a lifetime. You can be charged with anything from possession to distribution to manufacturing. Depending on the amount of the drugs and the nature of the offense, these crimes may be charged at the state or federal level in Michigan. These crimes may all carry harsh prison sentences, so it is crucial that those charged mount the strongest defense possible.
In Michigan it is against the law to possess heroin, cocaine, ecstasy, LSD, and prescription medications without a valid prescription. Penalties vary according to the type of drug possessed, its amount, its intended use (personal versus for sale), and any prior criminal drug history. In Michigan, there is also a law called “constructive possession,” which means you can be charged with drug possession simply by being in the place where the drug is being used or stored – even if you did not own the drug.
The criminal defense attorneys at Sharp & Associates Law Firm are experienced in all aspects of drug charges in Michigan. This includes both misdemeanor and felony offenses – let our experience and knowledge help you protect your future.
The following is a list of drug charges and possible sentences:
Distribution of Marijuana – up to 5 kilograms is punishable by up to 4 years in jail and $20,000 in fines. The severity of these charges can go up for distribution of amounts greater than 5 kilograms.
Possession of Prescription Drugs – carry penalties that vary depending on the type of substance and amount in possession. Possession of up to 25 grams of Schedule I or Schedule II drugs can carry penalties of up to 4 years in jail and fines up to $25,000.
Distribution of Prescription Drugs – carry penalties that vary depending on the type of substance and amount in possession. In Michigan, the sale of a controlled substance is punishable by up to 40 years in prison with potential fines amounting up to $250,000.
Possession of Adderall – is considered a prescription drug that’s classified as schedule II. Adderall can be acquired legally through a prescription. Possession of Adderall without a prescription is punishable by up to two years in prison and a fine of up to $2,000.
Distribution of Adderall – without a license is considered a felony with fines and prison sentences varying depending on the amount of the drug in possession. An amount of less than 50 grams is a felony of up to 20 years, a fine of $25,000 or both.
Possession of Cocaine – is considered a schedule II drug, those caught in possession of cocaine in Michigan can be charged with a felony. Punishments for possession of under 50 grams is up to 4 years in prison and fines of up to $25,000. Larger quantities carry significantly stiffer penalties.
Distribution of Cocaine – is considered a schedule II drug, and possession with the intent to sell in Michigan is considered a felony. Punishments for possession with intent to sell start with 20 years and/or fines of up to $25,000 for under 50 grams, and increase substantially as the amount possessed goes up.
Possession of Ecstasy – is a felony regardless of the amount. This offense is punishable by up to 10 years in prison and/or $15,000 in fines with increasing penalties as the amount in possession goes up.
Distribution of Ecstasy – is a felony, resulting in a prison sentence of up to 20 years and fines of up to $25,000 for amounts between 50 and 450 grams. Sentences for this schedule I drug increase substantially as the amount in possession increases.
Possession of Methamphetamine – is a felony offense regardless of the amount possessed. In Michigan, this can result in a sentence of up to 10 years in prison and a fine of up to $15,000.
Distribution of Methamphetamine – is a very serious felony in Michigan. Possession with the intent to distribute can result in a prison sentence of up to 20 years, a fine of $25,000 or both.
Heroin Possession – for amounts under 50 grams is punishable by up to 4 years in jail and $25,000 in fines. These penalties increase for amounts greater than 50 grams.
Possession of LSD, Peyote, or any Schedule V Controlled Substances – is a Misdemeanor that’s punishable by up to 1 year in county jail and/or $2,000 in fines with varying penalties as the amount in possession increases.
** Under Michigan Law (MCL 333.7403), drugs are listed in 5 categories of controlled substances.
*** In Michigan, if you are convicted of drug charges, your driver’s license will be suspended.
Don’t Face Drug Charges Alone
We will do everything possible to protect you from restrictions and harsh sentencing. Do not risk making a critical mistake or missing an important deadline. The sooner you take action to defend the charges against you, the better your chances at freedom. If you’ve been charged with a drug crime, contact an experienced Kalamazoo drug charges lawyer for help.